Saving the ozone layer in the Caribbean: UNEP Awards for Policy and Implementation Leadership

Dec 7, 2017

From the left, Dr.Omar Bello, Ms. Rosemary Lall, Mrs. Sharifa Ali-Abdullah, Permanent Secretary Joanne Deoraj, Mr. Leslie Smith (Awardee), Mr. Richard Blewitt, Ms. Marissa Gowrie (Awardee), Ms. Artie Dubrie (Awardee) and Ms. Kariyma Baltimore, Representative of Ambassador Dr. Patrick Antoine, Grenada.

The performance of the English-speaking Caribbean countries in the implementation of Montreal Protocol obligations has attracted international recognition.  The Sub Region has been successful in completely phasing out the consumption of chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs), one of the most significant ozone depleting substances.

To commemorate this achievement, the United Nations of Trinidad and Tobago hosted the recognition ceremony of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Awards for Policy and Implementation Leadership on Thursday, December 7, 2017 at the UN House, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago.

The recognition ceremony celebrated three recipients, Dr. Marissa Gowrie, Deputy Environmental Manager/National Ozone Officer, Ministry of Planning and Development in Trinidad and Tobago, Mr. Leslie Smith, National Ozone Officer for Grenada’s National Ozone Unit, Grenada and Ms. Artie Dubrie, Sustainable Development Officer in the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC), for their tireless efforts, commitment, passion and dedication to the protection of the ozone layer and their contribution in the phasing out of ozone-depleting substances in Trinidad and Tobago and the region.

The ceremony was well attended with opening remarks done by Mr. Richard Blewitt, UN Resident Coordinator and UNDP Resident Representative, Trinidad and Tobago, Suriname, Aruba, Curacao and Sint Maarten. Ms. Alexandra Karekaho, Programme Officer of UN Environment, Caribbean Sub-Regional Office in Jamaica, delivered a congratulatory message to the awardees. Then, Mr. Marco Pinzon, Regional Network Coordinator, for the National Ozone Officers Network for the Caribbean, UNEP Regional office, presented the awards via skype to the awardees.

After the award ceremony, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Planning and Development, Mrs. Joanne Deoraj, on behalf of the Honourable Camille Robinson-Regis, Minister of Planning and Development, congratulated the award recipients on well-deserved international recognition and thanked for their contributions to making a sustainable and resilient Caribbean. To end the ceremony, closing remarks and the vote of thanks were delivered by Ms. Rosemary Lall, Programme Officer, Energy, Environment and Disaster Management UNDP Trinidad and Tobago.



UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Trinidad and Tobago 
Go to UNDP Global